Aller à la page principale

La Conférence Annuelle DHIS2 se tiendra du 10 au 13 juin. Plus d'infos ici

La recherche sur les systèmes d'information et DHIS2

DHIS2 n’est pas qu’une plateforme logicielle. Il fait également partie d’un projet de recherche-action participative de plusieurs décennies sur le renforcement des systèmes d’information sanitaire dirigé par le programme HISP de l’Université d’Oslo.

Aller à une section sur cette page

    La recherche HISP et DHIS2

    DHIS2 est actuellement développé et maintenu par le groupe de développement de logiciels au sein de HISP à l’Université d’Oslo (UiO), Département de l’informatique. La recherche universitaire a joué un rôle clé dans le mouvement HISP depuis que le logiciel DHIS a été créé en tant que projet de recherche sur le renforcement du système d’information sanitaire en Afrique du Sud dans les années 1990. Cependant, la portée de la recherche HISP s’étend au-delà du logiciel DHIS2, à l’écosystème sociotechnique plus large des systèmes d’information sanitaire, incluant les matériaux, les ressources humaines, les compétences, les institutions et leurs pratiques.

    HISP est également un mouvement mondial visant à renforcer les systèmes d’information sanitaire dans les pays en développement. HISP-UiO est l’une des principales organisations de ce mouvement et notre contribution comprend le renforcement des capacités dans les pays et le soutien à l’implémentation, la recherche, le programme de doctorat ainsi que l’équipe de développement du logiciel DHIS2.

    Au sein de HISP, nous concevons, mettons en œuvre et maintenons des systèmes d’information sur la santé selon une approche participative et orientée vers l’action. Notre objectif principal est de soutenir la gestion locale de la prestation des soins de santé et les flux d’informations dans des établissements de santé, des districts et des provinces sélectionnés, ainsi qu’une diffusion de ces informations dans et entre les pays en développement. Nous mettons à disposition notre logiciel, DHIS2, en tant que bien public mondial numérique.

    Recherche-action participative

    DHIS2 est le produit d’un projet longitudinal de recherche-action participative de 20 ans qui trouve ses origines dans la tradition scandinave de la démocratie sur le lieu de travail et l’activisme anti-apartheid sud-africain. La recherche-action implique des activités collaboratives menées entre les utilisateurs, les chercheurs, les développeurs ainsi que d’autres parties prenantes pour permettre la conception du système, le développement, le renforcement des capacités, les tests du système et plus encore et ce en combinant la recherche à la pratique dans le but de générer de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et pratiques pertinentes pour la conception, le développement et l’utilisation du système.

    La recherche-action participative renseigne les équipes de renforcement des capacités et celles du développement de la plate-forme logicielle HISP-UiO pour un impact direct sur le développement et les améliorations plus larges de DHIS2. Les nouvelles fonctionnalités sont testées dans des applications à petite échelle sur le terrain avant d’être étendues et, en cas de succès, intégrées, mises en œuvre et partagées sur la plate-forme mondiale générique. En parallèle, ces importantes expériences d’implémentation sont documentées dans la littérature académique et partagées lors d’événements tels que les académies DHIS2.

    Au sein de UiO, les activités de DHIS2 constituent un «laboratoire vivant» où la recherche, l’innovation et le développement de logiciels sont intégralement alignés. La collaboration à travers et au sein du réseau HISP plus large, l’exploration de nouveaux cas d’utilisation (par exemple la surveillance des maladies ou les applications dans le secteur de l’éducation) et l’expérimentation de nouvelles fonctionnalités et technologies (par exemple le cloud et les smartphones) stimulent l’évolution et la diffusion continues du DHIS2.

    DHIS2 Design Lab

    Le DHIS2 Design Lab explore comment les chercheurs et les praticiens travaillant au sein de l’écosystème  DHIS2 peuvent faciliter et promouvoir la conception et l’innovation d’outils utilisables et apportant de la valeur au travail des utilisateurs finaux.

    Le design lab considère DHIS2 et ses ressources, les personnes et pratiques environnantes comme une infrastructure de conception, plutôt qu’une solution logicielle standard. L’objectif est de soutenir la conception de systèmes utilisables et pertinents lors des implémentations au sein d’organisations concrètes. Le design lab vise à renforcer la capacité de conception et d’innovation au niveau de l’implémentation de l’infrastructure de conception DHIS2 afin d’aider mieux les concepteurs à créer localement le logiciel adapté à des contextes d’utilisation particuliers.

    Le design lab est composé de chercheurs et doctorants du Département d’informatique de l’Université d’Oslo, travaillant en collaboration avec des développeurs principaux de DHIS2 et des spécialistes de l’implémentation du monde entier, notamment en Inde, au Mozambique, au Malawi et en Tanzanie.

    Video : L'histoire de HISP & DHIS

    Dans cette vidéo de 2021, le professeur Jørn Braa de HISP-UiO échange sur l’histoire et de l’avenir de HISP et DHIS.

    Le réseau HISP : Collaboration & renforcement de capacité

    UiO a lancé un programme de Master à l’Université Eduardo Mondlane (UEM) au Mozambique en 2000, qui s’est depuis étendu à d’autres pays via le réseau HISP. Ce programme permet l’intégration des disciplines de l’informatique et  santé publique et est basé sur les principes pédagogiques et de développement suivants :

    • Engager les étudiants dans le développement pratique local pour assurer à la fois la pertinence de l’éducation et de la recherche dans le contexte local et contribuer au développement des systèmes locaux.
    • Établir une synergie collaborative entre les disciplines universitaires de l’informatique et la santé publique pour s’assurer que les étudiants en informatique apprennent le domaine de la santé, l’application de l’IT à ce domaine et vice versa.
    • Etablir une collaboration avec le Ministère de la Santé, tant pour l’enseignement que pour la recherche appliquée ; Le personnel du ministère de la santé participant à la fois à l’enseignement, et étant également inscrit en tant qu’étudiants. Les projets de recherche pour les étudiants au sein de provinces pilotes du pays sont conçus pour soutenir le ministère de la santé dans le développement du SIS et de ce fait, contribuent à la stratégie nationale plus large.

    Pour aider à gérer et à maintenir ce programme de Master, un programme de doctorat a également été créé au Mozambique. Six membres du personnel de l’Université UEM ont été inscrits en tant que doctorants à l’Université d’Oslo , ce qui signifie qu’ils ont effectué leurs recherches au Mozambique tout en aidant à superviser des étudiants de Master, et en suivant les cours et séminaires pour le doctorat à Oslo.

    Depuis nos débuts au Mozambique, UiO a collaboré avec des universités nationales pour établir des programmes de Master en Afrique du Sud, au Malawi, en Tanzanie, en Éthiopie, au Sri Lanka et au Bangladesh. Grâce au financement et aux bourses du gouvernement norvégien – combiné dans certains cas avec un financement national – plus de 500 étudiants ont obtenu des diplômes de Master, dont plus de 60 se sont ensuite inscrits à des programmes de doctorat à UiO. Plusieurs de ces anciens étudiants dirigent maintenant des groupes HISP dans notre réseau mondial HISP.

    Les étudiants de recherche et de Master ont également activement contribué à l’enseignement des programmes de Master et des  formations continues dans différents pays. Étant donné que les étudiants vsont originaires de pays où des réformes du système d’information sanitaire sont en cours, ce modèle a contribué au développement durable de capacité au niveau institutionnel au sein des ministères de la santé de ces pays ainsi que des facultés de santé publique et d’informatique de leurs universités nationales. Ces personnes deviennent alors des contributeurs essentiels et des dirigeants d’organisations locales et régionales du Sud, qui soutiennent et renforçent l’implémentation et le développement ultérieur de DHIS2.

    Select HISP UiO Research Publications

    Research on DHIS2 and the global HISP project is instrumental in helping assess the impact of DHIS2 in strengthening health information systems in low- and middle-income countries, and the outcomes of this research feed back into the DHIS2 development and implementation processes.

    HISP UiO generates high-quality research outputs through faculty researchers, as well as PhD and Master’s candidates. Their work frequently appears as published research in international journals. HISP researchers have produced widely cited scientific outputs such as the “networks of action” approach, which has been adopted globally by researchers and practitioners.

    Below, you can find a selection of featured HISP publications on DHIS2 and health information systems. For an updated list of recent publications that present research and analysis related to DHIS2 and Health Information Systems, visit the research library on the HISP UiO website.

    TitleAuthor(s)KeywordsLink
    A critical review of the role of technology and context in digital health researchPetter Nielsen

    Sundeep Sahay
    Digital health, technology features, contexts of use, transdisciplinary, digital inequityRead More
    Where there is no CISOJohan Ivar Sæbø
    Andre Büttner
    Nils Gruschka
    Bob Jolliffe
    Austin Mcgee
    information security, digital platforms, data privacy, data confidentialityRead More
    Degenerative outcomes of digital identity platforms for development (2021)Silvia Masiero

    Viktor Arvidsson
    Digital identity platforms, Development, Social protection systemsRead More
    Engaging with uncertainty: Information practices in the context of disease surveillance in Burkina Faso (2021)Stine Loft Rasmussen

    Sundeep Sahay
    Disease surveillance, Developing countries, Uncertainty, Dengue, Health information systems, Information practicesRead More
    Digital platforms for development (2021)Brian Nicholson

    Petter Nielsen

    Johan Sæbø
    Digital platforms, developmentRead More
    WHO digital health packages for disseminating data standards and data use practices (2021)Olav Poppe

    Johan Sæbø

    Jørn Braa
    Health information systems, Standardisation, Sustainable development goals, Developing countries, COVID-19, Digital platformsRead More
    Digital Empowerment for Health Workers and Implications on EMRs UtilisationChipo Kanjo

    Joshua Hara

    Jens Kaasbøll
    Electronic Medical Record, Digital Empowerment, Computer Literacy, Keyboard Typing
    Read More
    The Dynamics of a Global Health Information Systems Research and Implementation Project (2019)Eric Adu-Gyamfi

    Petter Nielsen

    Johan Ivar Sæbø
    HISP, DHIS2, health information systems implementation, participatory action research, open-source softwareRead More
    Institutionalizing Information Systems for Universal Health Coverage in Primary Health Care and the Need for New Forms of Institutional Work (2019)Sundeep Sahay

    Petter Nielsen

    Margunn Aanestad
    Universal Health Coverage, Health Information Systems, Primary Health Care, Institutional WorkRead More
    Making Usable Generic Software. A Matter of Global or Local Design? (2019)Magnus Li

    Petter Nielsen
    Usability, Generic Software, Implementation-level design, Meta-usabilityRead More
    The social and technical conditions enabling innovations in information infrastructures: A case study from public health in Tanzania (2019)Masoud Hussein Mahundi

    Petter Nielsen

    Honest Kimaro
    DHIS2, health, innovations, information infrastructure, social and technical conditionsRead More
    Challenges and opportunities of using DHIS2 to strengthen health information systems in the Eastern Mediterranean Region: A regional approach (2019)Sundeep Sahay

    Arash Rashidian

    Henry V. Doctor
    EMRO, DHIS2, regional approachRead More

    For more information, contact the HISP research group

    If you are interested in collaborating with HISP researchers, you can contact the head of the HISP-UiO research group, Petter Nielsen, by email.

    You can also join the discussion on DHIS2-related research on the DHIS2 Community of Practice and learn more about the Health Information Systems Program at the University of Oslo on the UiO website.

Information Systems Research and DHIS2

University of Oslo Department of Informatics

DHIS2 is currently developed and maintained by the software development group within the Health Information Systems Programme at the University of Oslo (UiO), Department of Informatics. Academic research has played a key role in the HISP movement since the original DHIS software was created as a research project on health information system strengthening in South Africa in the 1990s. The scope of HISP research extends beyond the DHIS2 software, however, to the broader socio-technical ecosystem of health information systems, including their materials, people, competencies, institutions and practices.

HISP is also a global movement to strengthen Health Information Systems in Developing countries. HISP at UiO is one of the leading organizations in this movement and our contribution includes in-country capacity building and implementation support, research, a PhD program, and hosting the core DHIS2 software development team.

Within HISP, we design, implement and sustain health information systems following an action oriented and participatory approach. Our core aim is to support local management of health care delivery and information flows in selected health facilities, districts, and provinces, and its further spread within and across developing countries. We provide our software, DHIS2, as a digital global public good.

On the Research section of the DHIS2 website, you can find:

  • Research publications from HISP-UiO >> Learn More

  • An overview of Participatory Action Research in relation to the DHIS2 project >> Learn More

  • Information about the work of the DHIS2 Design Lab >> Learn More

  • The history of HISP and capacity building partnerships >> Learn More

  • Contanct information for research collaborations and discussions with the HISP research community >> Learn More

Participatory Action Research

DHIS2 is the product of a 20-year longitudinal participatory action research project that has its origins in the Scandinavian tradition of workplace democracy and South African anti-apartheid activism. Action research involves collaborative activities carried out between users and researchers together with developers and other stakeholders to enable system design, development, capacity strengthening, system testing and more, linking research with practice with the goal of generating new scientific knowledge along with relevant practical knowledge related to system design, development and use.

Participatory action research informs the HISP UiO capacity strengthening and software platform teams and thus directly impacts the broader development and enhancements of DHIS2. New functionality is tested out in small-scale applications on the ground before being scaled up and, if successful, absorbed, implemented and shared across the generic global platform. In parallel, these important implementation experiences are documented in the academic literature and shared at practitioner events such as DHIS2 Academies.

At UiO, DHIS2 activities constitute a “living lab” where research, innovation and software development are integrally aligned. Collaboration across and within the broader HISP network, exploration of new use cases (for example disease surveillance or applications in the education sector) and experimentation with new functionalities and technologies (for example cloud and smartphones) drives the continuous evolution and dissemination of DHIS2.

DHIS2 Design Lab

The DHIS2 Design Lab explores how researchers and practitioners working within the DHIS2 software ecosystem can facilitate and promote the design and innovation of tools that are usable and provide value to the work of end-users.

The design lab sees DHIS2 and the surrounding resources, people, and practices as a design infrastructure, rather than a standard software solution. The aim of the design infrastructure is to support the design of usable and relevant systems during implementation into concrete user organizations. The primary focus of the design lab is on strengthening the implementation-level design and innovation capacity of the DHIS2 design infrastructure so that it better supports designers in locally building the software that is right for particular contexts of use.

The design lab consists of researchers and post-graduate students at the Department of Informatics at the University of Oslo, working in collaboration with DHIS2 core developers and implementation specialists around the world including India, Mozambique, Malawi, and Tanzania.

History of the HISP network’s global capacity building efforts

UiO initiated an integrated Masters Program at Eduardo Mondlane University (UEM) in Mozambique in 2000, which has since spread to other countries through the HISP network. This program provides a vehicle for integration of the disciplines of informatics and public health, and is based on the following pedagogical and developmental principles:

  • Engage students in local practical development to ensure both the local relevance of education and research as well as contributing to local systems development.

  • Establish synergetic collaboration between the academic disciplines of informatics and public health to ensure that the informatics students learn about the health domain and how IT could be applied there and vice versa.

  • Establish collaboration with the Ministry of Health, both for education and applied research; Ministry of Health staff taking part in teaching, and staff from the Ministry of Health also being enrolled as students, and student research projects being designed as to support Ministry of Health by developing HIS in pilot provinces contributing to the larger national strategy.

To help run and sustain this Masters program, a corresponding PhD program was also established in Mozambique. Six staff members from the UEM University were enrolled as PhD students at the University of Oslo in a ‘sandwich’ mode, meaning that they carried out their research in Mozambique while also helping to supervise the Masters students, while taking courses and attending their PhD related seminars in Oslo.

Since our start in Mozambique, UiO has collaborated with national universities to establish in-country Masters programs in South Africa, Malawi, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. With funding and scholarship support from the Norwegian government--supplemented in some cases by national funding--more than 500 students have been awarded Masters degrees, more than 60 of whom have gone on to register for doctoral programs at UiO. Several of these former students now lead HISP groups in our global HISP network.

Both the research and Masters students have also actively contributed to the teaching of the Masters programs and in-service courses in different countries. Since individual students come from countries where such Health Information System reform initiatives are ongoing, this model has contributed to the development of sustainable capacity at the institutional levels within these countries’ Ministries of Health and the Faculties of Public Health and Informatics of their national universities. These individuals become critical contributors and leaders of local and regional organizations in the South, supporting and strengthening implementation and further development of DHIS2.

For more information, contact the HISP research group

If you are interested in collaborating with HISP researchers, you can contact the head of the HISP-UiO research group, Petter Nielsen, by email.

You can also join the discussion on DHIS2-related research on the DHIS2 Community of Practice and learn more about the Health Information Systems Program at the University of Oslo on the UiO website.